The Secret History by Donna Tartt – book review

This phenomenal story is not something to be taken lightly and it’s well known to never expect this brightly woven tale akin to a heartwarming one. Alas, I hadn’t got a clue when I immersed myself into it.

By reading this, my moral compass has been prodded and poked, none too gently. It’s a wonder how you’d expect where the plot is going but it steeply turns to the left, never going the way you had anticipated.

Richard Papen, one of the students in New England or Hampden College who takes Greek Literature, narrates the story. During his stay there, he recalls significant encounters that affected his physical and psychological state. When he met Julian Morrow, a seemingly charming professor, and his captivating Greek pupils, his life takes an exciting turn. They have accepted him into their lives full of spider-webbed secrets, murder, and essentially, evil.

From the beginning, I was already interested to see where the story goes. I knew there was horror lurking around and I wanted to see what initiated it. I did not prepare myself for such blatant behavior that led to events I was startled to wonder how improbable yet feasible the events may be. I’d rather not say any more; albeit I have a lot I cannot word out as eloquently and bluntly as Richard did.

Leave a Reply

